Hands off

I tend to agree with those that say that you can’t blame referees and linesman for your teams’ result. I also defend officials given they only have one chance to call what they see and will get it wrong sometimes. Let’s face it we watch Ryman Premier standard football so we should expect Ryman Premier standard officiating.

That said, and 24 hours on, I still can’t fathom how Hastings’ third goal stood yesterday. It was a moment where my brain told me not to worry, the referee wouldn’t allow that goal, and even if he didn’t see the handball (or the push before it) the linesman was bound to.

As I had my daughter Daisy with me I sat in the seats on the halfway line during the second half. The linesman could only be a few yards from me and given this was one of the more blatant handballs you are likely to see surely the linesman must have seen it. But no and the goal coming when it did clearly determined the result.

Did the ball go out of play before Andre scored our third goal? Being the wrong side of the ground to see this properly the first I heard of this was after the game. Perhaps it did, perhaps not. I don’t have any such doubts about the last gasp equaliser though.

A tough game at Staines awaits on Tuesday and hopefully Grossie and the forgotton man Carl Martin might be back. We need them 11 goals in 3 games has cost us dear!

About howiejk

Chairman of Wealdstone FC since May 2007

Leave a Reply

