Ask the Chairman

Back from 3 days away from home and catching up on all the news. As always the real ‘fun’ piece of reading is the WFC Forum and mailing list.

Guys, I understand the frustrations – I really do. We may disagree about what we should do about it but I do realise that having a successful football team is the bedrock on which everything else we do is based.

That is why we tried to invest (a little) more in players this season. So far it clearly hasn’t produced the league results we wanted but I have complete belief that this will change.

Are the injuries an excuse? My belief is take Lampard, Drogba and Terry out of the Chelsea team and they will suffer. As a result for me it is their injuries and resultant absences that are at the heart of why they are where they are in the league – despite all their resources – rather than anything to do with Mourinho, Abramovich or Grant. Take our big players out with our resources then it is no surprise we are not where we would have hoped to be. You judge whether this is an excuse or simply a fact.

Some say the manager should go – I disagree. The views we read on the internet tend to be those of a few. Since taking this job on I have spoken to a greater range of supporters than ever before, many I have not previously spoken to. I know that some think there should be a change but most don’t. I do respect other opinions, that is what football is all about, but I don’t agree.

I am surprised we keep coming back to a demand to reiterate the Club’s financial situation. The time this is made public is at AGMs – our last one was in the summer, not that long ago. Nothing material has changed from that.
Having said that I am (as advertised) in favour of being open.

Therefore, to ‘celebrate’ six months as Chairman (on 1 November) I will arrange an ‘Ask the Chairman’ session after a forthcoming home game, where I will be happy to set out our strategy, explain why we have acted as we have and discuss any aspect of what is happening at the Club.

So when will this happen? Unfortunately not before November. I will do this after a game – either 5.15/5.30 on a Saturday or after a midweek game when we can go in the back bar at Northwood with anyone who wants to come. Looking at the fixtures, and given I am away for a couple of Saturday’s later this month, I guess we will try to do this possibly after the Hendon game (10 November). We’ll confirm as soon as we can.

Until then – as always – I’m happy to discuss things with people in person, on the phone or by email. Of course feel free to leave a comment on this blog.

I remain confident, passionate and determined that we will have a future and part of that future is founded on a team that achieves this season. All I can ask is that supporters keep the faith. I understand why crowds are down, I appreciate the frustrations of several years of struggle however I’m not panicking, I’m not giving up, I believe – I ask you to do the same.

About howiejk

Chairman of Wealdstone FC since May 2007

One response to “Ask the Chairman

  1. Grim

    Well said Howard.

Leave a Reply

