An emotional day

There may not have been a game yesterday but it was still a very emotional day for me.

Timing being everything, the new Supporter’s Club has opened at the same time as we are having a big clearout of our garage and it seemed a good thing to donate my programme collection to the Supporter’s Club, both in recognition of what the rejuvenated Supporters Club are trying to do and also in the hope that some of these programmes may one day raise a few quid for the good of the Club.

But it is not easy.  As I loaded box file after box file into the car (around 35 I think) you realise that you are handing over a little piece of yourself.  Gazing through some of the programmes awoke many memories of games for 10,20, 30+ years ago.  It was interesting not just to see the names of old Wealdstone players but the opposition too, to see who went on from these games and became decent well known non league or pro players.  And there were so many games, so many memories reawakened.

Why we do we hoard things like programmes?  I know I am hardly alone.  Having two daughters I knew that whilst they are interested in football, and occasionally even in Wealdstone, they were never going to follow my more ‘nerdy’ ways of loving football trivia and rejoicing in collecting books, magazines and programmes and the like.  I still remember the feeling of real excitement, when as something like a 12 year old, my 20 year old cousin gave me his old Rothmans Annuals.  These will also be going to the new club shop soon I expect.

I understand the plan is that the Supporters Club are leasing off-site container space and will be selling programmes on line and possibly on ebay.  I wish them luck and hope they raise plenty of money.

And good luck to Mark Barton in unloading his car without injuring his back given all those box files filled to breaking point.

About howiejk

Chairman of Wealdstone FC since May 2007

Leave a Reply

